Sunday, February 17, 2013 - 19:00
The Anvil, Basingstoke
Basingstoke Symphony Orchestra
Stephen Scotchmer
Rebecca Totterdell
Ivana Gavric

Wagner - Tristan and Isolde:
                Prelude & Liebestod
Ravel - Piano Concerto in G: Ivana Gavric
Sibelius - Symphony No. 1


The Basingstoke Symphony Orchestra welcomes acclaimed pianist Ivana Gavric to play Ravel’s sparkling Piano Concerto in G. Ivana was named BBC Music Magazine’s “Newcomer of the Year” in 2011 and continues to be praised and admired by critics and audiences.

Richard Wagner’s groundbreaking operas are celebrated with extracts from his epic tale of unfulfilled love, Tristan und Isolde. The daring music the begins the opera dramatically altered the course of the history of music, and 2013 marks the 200th anniversary of the birth of its composer.

Concluding this concert, the first of Jean Sibelius’s seven dramatic and descriptive symphonies is as evocative of his great musical heroes as it is of the landscape and legends of his native Finland.  

Why not  listen to these YouTube versions of the pieces...

Wagner - Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde

Ravel - Piano Concerto in G

Sibelius - Symphony No.1